I’m a writer

Standard

Okay. So 2014 is turning out to be a pretty good year so far. And last year was amazing, so I’m still grateful for that.

I’m enjoying this time while I can, and getting myself adjusted to moving up another rung; one step closer to being a working writer. It’s a mental shift in how I do and see things, but a very welcome one! It’s one of those moments in life where you’ve been working so hard at something, trying to convince others to give you a chance at it, and then someone calls your bluff. Now you have to make good on all of those promises that you have the talent equal to the task.

Getting my name shouted out on Deadline for the first time is kind of cool (read it here: http://www.deadline.com/2014/01/disneyabc-writing-program-announces-2014-participants/ )

Of course, I got over the stigma that comes with being a creative person a long time ago… so I wasn’t looking for a stamp of approval. I also rightfully abandoned that feeling of self doubt that comes with telling people “I am a writer” at parties and events. You know the feeling that waits inside all of us whenever we dare to dream. It calls you a liar and often pinches knots at the base of your stomach until you cover for yourself saying “well… I haven’t written anything yet” or “some things, but you would have never read or seen them” that’s the one I am talking about. It’s a real nasally bastard of a voice. But like I said, I got over that feeling all on my own. So I’ve known for some time now that I am a writer.

I’m just excited to know that others might learn that about me too. Even better, if I can tell those people a story on screen, and then manage to get paid for it, well that’s not a bad way to spend my time I would have to say.

